The Safety Standards Act

The Safety Standards Act came into effect, along with the regulations, on April 1, 2004.

The applicable regulations are:
  • Safety Standards General Regulation
  • Electrical Safety Regulation
  • Elevating Devices Safety Regulation
  • Gas Safety Regulation
  • Power Engineers, Boiler, Pressure Vessel ad Refrigeration Safety Regulation
Commencing April 1 2004, the BCSA assumed responsibility for the delivery of safety services previously delivered by the Ministry of Community, Aboriginal and Women’s Services. A link to the regulations is posted on the BCSA website.